Security fb-closing-11

Published on April 9th, 2011 | by Rahul Srinivas

0

Facebook “Shutdown” Scam Hits Millions Of Users



I am sure you have come across at least one of those forwarded messages that ask you to take care of your Facebook profile because the service is shutting down on some date in the future. In the latest iteration of the same, a Facebook worm is on the prowl which is actually a malicious App that disguises as an official Facebook App. It warns people by saying that Facebook is on the verge of shutting down inactive accounts and in order to keep your account active you would need to perform some actions. People who are duped in to this usually end up clicking the link with the app request and grant the app permission to post from your account.


The application contacts users with the following text

“Facebook is closing all accounts today. They can’t handle so many accounts. Most of the old accounts are not active, so they are deleting everything. If you want your account alive please confirm your activity. This is the final notice!”

They also receive a message that says:

“Final Notice – Confirm your activity today! In order to keep your account alive you must verify your activity! Your account will be permanently disabled if you don’t take this step.”

Once people get this from what seemingly looks like an official app, they click it and then the app goes on posting the same messages on the walls of your friends and they too keep on doing the same thing. Should you be already affected by this one, make sure you go to your Facebook Privacy settings and select the “Apps and Websites” section and revoke access to the app.

[Via


About the Author

The Managing Editor at OnlyGizmos, Rahul Srinivas is a self proclaimed gadget freak - hooked to all things electronic since 2003. He left a promising career in the Services industry back in 2008 to pursue tech blogging and has been enjoying the action since then!



Back to Top ↑